Winners of the 87th Annual Cape May Baby Parade Announced (Video)

Additional reporting and video by: Isaiah Showell

CAPE MAY, N.J. — The 87th Annual Cape May Baby Parade was held over the weekend and the list of adorable winners has been announced.

The parade was held on Friday, August 2nd with Cape May’s “Queen Maysea” of 2019, Corinna LaPuma leading the procession as the Grand Marshall down Beach Avenue from Congress Street to Howard Street.

First Place Decorated on Wheels – V’Italia Valecce at the 87th annual Cape May Baby Parade.

The awards ceremony was conducted by the Grand Marshall and Mayor Clarence F. Lear III at the Cape May Convention Hall following the parade.

Trophies were awarded in four separate categories: “Pretty Baby,” “Children Walking in Fancy Dress,” “Children Walking in Comic Dress,” and “Decorated on Wheels.” There were also awards for “Best Float” (motorized or pulled) and “Best Overall Entry.”

For additional information, visit or contact The City of Cape May at (609) 884-9565. You can also Like their page on Facebook at and follow them on Twitter @capemaycity.

Below is the list of all the winners at the 87th Annual Cape May Baby Parade:

Pretty Baby (under 2 years of age)
1st place: Alessia Axelsson
2nd place: Hope Brockman
3rd place: Heartlynn Ernst
4th place: Danielle Thornton
5th place: Aiden Thomas
6th place: Parker Marchildon
7th place: Mia DeSalva
8th place: Natalie McKinney
9th place: Peter Hand
10th place: Mia Join

Children Walking in Fancy Dress:
1st place: Leah Fedorchak
2nd place: Eve Brockman
3rd place: Grace Brockman
4th place: Belle Dougherty
5th place: Rowan Anderton
6th place: Livia Schwegel

Children Walking in Comic Dress:
1st place: Sophie Paulsen
2nd place: Hurd Family
3rd place: Polka Family
4th place: Zoey Czahla
5th place: Avery Dougherty

Decorated on Wheels:
1st place: V’Italia Valecce 
2nd place: Molly Kohlmann
3rd place: Shepcaro and Stewart Families 
4th place: Kaylee Stotler
5th place: Charlee Olexa
6th place: Kaitlynn Kreffki, Amiyah Byyer, Daniel Woerner

Best Overall Carlyle Dennis Memorial Award: Medio – Rosario Family

Best Float Cory Scott Wolf Memorial Award: Kevin Kohlmann